Beginner''s Guide Zelda FAQ

Walkthroughs, Zelda news, images, forums and more - total Legend of Zelda coverage!

Beginner''s Guide Zelda FAQ


Zelda faq

What is “The Legend of Zelda”?

the legend of zelda” is the brainchild of creator Shigeru miyamoto. He’s the creator of many of the world’s most famous games, such as Super Mario Bros. and Donkey Kong. Zelda games are generally classed as “Action-Adventure RPGs”, which sounds like a complicated genre, but actually, this natural mix of exploration, puzzles, fighting, fantasy, and dream-like storytelling creates a smooth and highly enjoyable experience.

The most famous of all Zelda games is “ocarina of time” on the Nintendo 64 console. After its release in 1998, it was constantly hailed as “The Best Game Ever,” and it was backed by a strong international marketing campaign.

What is the basic plot to the series?

the legend of zelda is encapsulated in the metaphorical Triforce. It is a legendary artefact that consists of three parts - Wisdom, Courage, and Power. These each correspond to the three main protagonists of the Zelda series; Princess Zelda, who possesses wisdom, the Hero, Link, who possesses courage, and the Evil King, Ganondorf, who possesses power. Throughout the generations, their lineage is destined to meet and battle over the fate of their homeland, the Kingdom of Hyrule.

Isn’t the hero called Zelda?

No! The hero is called Link! Zelda is the Princess and Link’s the guy in green who looks like an elf. Yes, the name of the franchise is a little misleading, especially as Zelda doesn’t feature in a few of the games. That’s just the way it is.

What sets Zelda games apart from the crowd?

Simply, the Zelda series is a AAA franchise. It’s not just that each instalment is of a higher quality than its competitors, but the Zelda series consistently pushes the boundaries of what people expect from a video game. It has bought countless innovations to gaming world, and continues to do so, with each release becoming a landmark and a milestone.

How many Zelda games have been released?

So far, there have been 13 games in the main Zelda series. In order of release, these are:

  1. The Legend of Zelda (NES)
  2. The Adventure of Link (NES)
  3. A Link to the Past (Super Nintendo)
  4. Link’s Awakening (Game Boy)
  5. Ocarina of Time (Nintendo 64)
  6. Majora’s Mask (Nintendo 64)
  7. Oracle of Ages (Game Boy Color)
  8. Oracle of Seasons (Game Boy Color)
  9. The Wind Waker (GameCube)
  10. The Minish Cap (Game Boy Advance)
  11. Twilight Princess (GameCube and Wii)
  12. Phantom Hourglass (Nintendo DS)
  13. Spirit Tracks (Nintendo DS)

It gets slightly more complicated, however. Some of these games have been remade for other consoles (a link to the past for Game Boy Advance and Link’s Awakening for Game Boy Color, for instance). There have been a couple of spin-offs like four swords and four swords Adventures.

Also, Phillips obtained the license to make Zelda games for their own console, the Phillips CDi. During their contract, they released three Zelda games of their own; Faces of Evil, Wand of Gamelon, and Zelda’s Adventure.

So, if you were to count every last one of Link’s starring roles, there would be at least 20 titles. But, Link and Zelda have appeared in many more games, either as playable characters or as cameos, so it’s really hard to give a concrete number.

What systems can I play Zelda games on?

The series has had at least one title on every major Nintendo console. There are Zelda games on the NES, the Super Nintendo, Game Boy, Game Boy Color, Game Boy Advance, Nintendo 64, GameCube, Nintendo ds, and wii. The easiest way to play the home console classics is to buy them on wii Virtual Console.

Is there a chronological order of the games?

This is a difficult question to answer, because many different people have many different theories!


discover | c | beginners guide | faq |

Zelda World